Feeding to Sleep?

I’ve gotten into the habit of feeding to put my baby to sleep. I hear that it’s not recommended, but would love to understand why. Thank you!

Answers

• I guess it depends on how old your LO is? I’m not an expert by any means but if they’re a newborn, I wouldn’t be so worried. When LO gets older the recommendation is to stay away from nursing to sleep to avoid it becoming a habit. I think the concern is that over time they would associate waking up in the night and want to be fed back to sleep.

This would be helpful when you’re ready to sleep train! In our case, we started to wean our LO at 4 months off of 2 middle of the night feeds to 1! When he started to roll at 5 months, we took the plunge and did the cry it out method and got very lucky. He now sleeps about 11 hours and suffice to say we’re all sleeping better!

Every baby is different and I’m sure you’ll get into a routine that works for you and the LO.

• DrMonicaOrdway
    DrMonicaOrdway Member, Expert

@Astone This is a very common question that comes from the love parents feel for their babies. There are two reasons why it is recommended that babies do not fall asleep while eating.

The first concern is related to tooth decay. When breastmilk or formula sits on the gums or teeth at night then there is an increased risk of dental caries. It is recommended to wipe down babies' gums before putting them down to sleep.